If you have ever been to Sri Lanka, then you will have noticed there are shops on every street selling ‘short eats’ which are delicious (and usually deep-fried) snacks. Fish patties are my favourite. I didn’t deep fry these ones as they can be put in the oven. My grandma says I was a bit mean with the filling in this video but I didn’t want to overstuff them as it makes them hard to fill! You can use any fish you like – tinned fish is traditionally used. Mackerel, salmon or tuna would all work fine. Patties appear in lots of different cuisines -I have eaten Jamaican and Brazilian patties so far! Mum says patties are best served with spicy Sriracha sauce on the side. I prefer them with ketchup. Ingredients below the video.

Ingredients:
Mackerel
Curry Leaves
Curry Powder
Onions, garlic and green chillies finely chopped
Puff pastry
Coconut oil for frying

 

Leave a Reply

