I ate this for the first time at Villa Pia in Lippiano. The cooks there are really fantastic and make the best Italian food I have ever eaten! I haven’t ever seen this type of gnocchi on the menu at the few Italian restaurants I have been to in London so I’ve looked up the recipe from the Villa Pia cookbook. The Umbria region is famous for many types of food including truffles. To keep it cheap, we used truffle oil from LIDL which is really tasty. I cooked the gnocchi alla romana with my sister Lily. It’s the ultimate cheesy vegetarian comfort food! It takes a while to make as you have to let it cool but it’s very simple to make. Ingredients below the video.

Recipe from the Villa Pia cook book:
200g semolina
1 litre milk
50g butter (plus more for topping)
20g parmesan (plus more for topping)
2 eggs
Truffle oil
Salt and pepper

Leave a Reply

